National Medal Winners

On May 1, 2018 the IMLS announced that the Georgetown Public Library is one of five libraries to win the 2018 National Medal for Museum and Library Services!

In the library lobby, we held a surprise announcement party for the community. In attendance were Georgetown Mayor Dale Ross, Texas State Library and Archives Commission director and librarian Mark Smith, current and former library employees and volunteers, a bevy of other City employees, community supporters, well-wishers and library patrons…and a good number of balloons as well!

Attending the announcement were Library Advisory Board member John Hudson and Sharon Snuffer, a member of the Arts and Culture Board. They are shown here with library director Eric Lashley.

The GPL goes to Washington!
Continue following our National Medal story by reading about our trip to Washington, D.C. for the awards ceremony here.